Skip to main content

Mill Valley Public Library, Lucretia Little History Room

The Lucretia Little History Room is dedicated to illuminating the unique and vibrant history of Mill Valley and making this history accessible to people of all ages and interests. We accomplish this by collecting, preserving, and promoting materials of enduring value pertaining to people, places, and events associated with Mill Valley and a few select nearby areas, such as Mount Tamalpais and Muir Woods, that are an essential part of Mill Valley’s historic heritage.

The History Room and the Mill Valley Historical Society have shared a close relationship since their respective foundings in 1977. Since its opening, the Lucretia Little History Room has operated under the jurisdiction of the Mill Valley Public Library and the City of Mill Valley, and its collection is owned by the Library. The Historical Society is a separate nonprofit organization which is not governed by the City. The Historical Society and the Library collaborate in many areas, including on exhibitions, the Mill Valley Oral History Program, and the First Wednesday lecture series. The Historical Society provides valued funding and membership resources to support the History Room’s projects, while the Library provides research support for the Historical Society’s programs and publications, from its annual History Walk to the Mill Valley Historical Review.

Contact Information:

Mill Valley Public Library
Lucretia Little History Room
375 Throckmorton Ave.
Mill Valley, CA 94941
Telephone: (415) 389-4292
Email: hist@cityofmillvalley.org

3
RESULTS
rss


PART OF
California Revealed
Cultural & Academic Films
Media Type
3
images
Year
1
1884
2
(No Date)
Topics & Subjects
3
californialightandsound
3
californiarevealed
1
Cascade Falls
1
Cascades Area
1
Old Mill
1
Portraits
More right-solid
Collection
More right-solid
Creator
1
bradely and rudolfson
Language
3
English
SHOW DETAILS
up-solid down-solid
eye
Title
Date Archived
Creator
Mill Valley Public Library, Lucretia Little History Room
by Bradely and Rudolfson
image
eye 36
favorite 1
comment 0
Description : Hilarita Reed Lyford was the daughter of John Thomas Reed, the first Anglo-Saxon landowner and settler of Mill Valley, California. She was married to Benjamin Lyford. Source : 1 Page of 1: Photograph (4.25 x 6.5 in.) Call Number : 2017.004.001 Digitized by California Revealed .
Topics: californiarevealed, californialightandsound, Portraits
Description : Mill Valley's Old Mill was built by John Reed circa 1835. Reed's sawmill has long been Mill Valley's most significant man-made landmark. Front of postcard printed with: "157- Mill Valley, California. (Erected 1832)" Back of postcard is printed with the following text: "Edward H. Mitchell, Publisher, San Francisco". Source : 1 Page of 1: Postcard (5.5 x 3.5 in.) Call Number : 2016.094.007 Digitized by California Revealed .
Topics: californiarevealed, californialightandsound, Old Mill, Sawmills, Structures
Description : Cascade Falls in Mill Valley, California. Postcard shows portion of a manmade viewing area with elaborate guardrail and a footbridge above the falls. Title transcribed from the back of postcard, which is printed with the following text: "The Cascades, Mill Valley, Cal." Back also includes: "M. Rieder, Publ., Los Angeles, Cal. No. 4731". Source : 1 Page of 1: Postcard (3.5 x 5.5 in.) Call Number : 2016.094.019 Digitized by California Revealed .
Topics: californiarevealed, californialightandsound, Cascade Falls, Cascades Area, Waterfalls